Section 8

Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program

ATTENTION: All Wait Lists are now Closed.

This program is contracted through WHEDA to serve Adams, Burnett, Columbia, Iron, Jefferson, Price, Rusk, Taylor and Washburn Counties along with the City of Eau Claire in providing rent assistance to eligible households at or below 50% of County Median Income (CMI). The number of vouchers we are authorized to fill may fluctuate during the contract period based on available funds. We maintain a separate waiting list for each county; the wait time averages between one and four years to receive assistance.

Once you receive a voucher, you would be required to lease up for a minimum of one year in the county that you applied for if you have not lived in that county. Any type of private rental unit is allowable as long as it fits within the payment standard as set by HUD and passes a housing quality standard inspection.

Eligible families pay between 30-40% of their adjusted income for rent; the balance is subsidized by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Resident portions of the rent are re-evaluated at least once a year. Applications may be requested by contacting our main office and speaking to the receptionist. Applications may be downloaded from the link below and or picked up at our main office.

Placement on a waiting list is based on the time and date of application.  Unreasonably long waiting lists will be closed; when a waiting list is opened announcements are published in the local newspapers.  Open waiting lists have a link below to download an application.

ATTENTION: All Wait Lists are now Closed

Please download and fill out the application and RETURN TO THE ADDRESS BELOW.

  • We suggest you return your Completed and Signed Application AS SOON AS POSSIBLE as once the WAITING LIST IS CLOSED for your County, we will no longer be accepting applications for that county.

Adams County – Closed
Burnett County – Closed
Columbia County – Closed
Iron County – Closed
Jefferson County – Closed
Price County – Closed
Rusk County – Closed
Taylor County Closed
Washburn County – Closed

Please Mail All Completed Applications for Adams, Burnett, Columbia, Iron, Jefferson, Price, Rusk, Taylor & Washburn Counties To:

P.O. Box 680
Friendship, WI  53934

City of Eau Claire Section 8 Mailing Address.

City of Eau Claire  –  Closed

All completed application for the City of Eau Claire
can be Faxed, Mailed or Dropped Off at the address below:

Bldg. D02 Suite 312
800 Wisconsin St. Box 16
Eau Claire, WI  54703
Phone:  715.598.7188
Fax: 715.598.1524
(Office Hours Monday – Thursday 7am – 3:30pm)