Work Permit Processing Hours: Monday – Thursday 9am-4pm
Work Permit Requirements:
To obtain a work permit, either the minor alone or the minor and a parent must be present.
Minor needs to have with them:
1. Original Social Security Card PLUS
2. Birth Certificate or Drivers License or Passport or State ID
3. A Letter from Employer on letterhead stationary stating type of work.
4. Written permission from Parent/Guardian “sometimes the parental portion is included with the letter from employer”.
5. $10.00 (Cash or Check – we are unable to make change.)
Other Issuing Locations:
Wisconsin Dells Visitors Convention Bureau
701 Superior St.
Wisconsin Dells WI 53965
On March 30, 2018, another law change related to work permits took effect.
2017 Wis. Act 168 provides that minors of any age may work under the direct supervision of their parents or legal guardians in connection to the parent’s business, trade, or profession. No work permit is required. This means that if a child is going to work for his/her parents, you do not need to issue a work permit any longer.
Minors under 14 may do only the types of work allowed to 14-year-old minors. They can’t do work that would be prohibited to 14-year-olds. The time of day restrictions and hours of work restrictions that apply to 14-year-olds apply to these younger minors.
The legislature passed 2017 Assembly Bill 326 in early February. We have learned today that Governor Walker will sign the bill tomorrow, Wednesday, March 28. We believe it will be published the following day, and effective Friday, March 30, 2018.
As you may have heard, the Act will allow minors as young as 15 to be employed as lifeguards as long as they have successfully completed a bona fide life saving course AND as long as an adult employee is on premises at times when the 15-year-old is on duty.
Here is a link to the draft Act, which does not yet have an Act number: https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/enrolled/ab326.pdf
2017 Wisconsin Act 11 was signed by Governor Walker yesterday and published today, June 22, 2017. The effective date of this law is June 23, 2017. The law removes the requirement that 16- and 17-year-old minors obtain work permits. This law also changes the terminology and refers to the “employment of minors” instead of child labor.
Effective June 23, 2017,
- 16- and 17-year-old minors do NOT have to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work. You will no longer issue work permits for minors ages 16 or 17.
- The law makes no changes to the requirements for minors younger than 16. Minors younger than 16 will need to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work. You will continue to issue work permits as usual for minors younger than 16.
- This law makes no changes to any other child labor provisions. There are no changes to the maximum hours or times of days that minors younger than 16 may work, or the types of work that minors may perform.
The complete text of the law can be viewed here: http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/acts/11